Simple Sesame Chicken with Couscous

*Be sure to read to the bottom- there are a few things I did differently*

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup uncooked whole wheat couscous
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cups coleslaw mix
  • 4 green onions, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1/2 cup Asian toasted sesame salad dressing, divided
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breasts (or you can use rotisserie chicken- I did!)
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • Chopped peanuts (optional)
  1. In a small saucepan, bring water to a boil. Stir in couscous. Cover and remove from heat. Let stand (still covered) 5-10 minutes or until water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork.

2. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add coleslaw mix; cook and stir 3-4 minutes or just until tender.

sesame1

3. Add the green onions, 2 tablespoons dressing and couscous.

sesame2

sesame3

sesame4

4. Mix together.

sesame5

5. Remove couscous mixture from pan; keep warm.

6. In the same skillet, add chicken and remaining dressing. Stir and cook over medium heat until heated through.

sesame6

sesame7

7. Serve chicken over couscous; top with cilantro and, if desired, peanuts.

sesame8

sesame9

I have a great friend who is, admittedly, a picky eater. So, I recently told her to go through some of my recipes that I have collected and mark which ones she would eat and then she’d be my guinea pig when I cooked it. This is one of those recipes.

To be honest, I probably would not have picked this recipe. There is no particular reason- it just didn’t stand out as a “must try”. But, I figured I’d give it a go…

I am so glad that I did. (For her sake too…I told her if it didn’t taste good, I was blaming her for picking it.)

This tastes like fried rice with teriyaki chicken- except the best friend rice and teriyaki chicken I’ve ever had. My kids notoriously picky eaters as well, and they both had two servings (plus my son ate all the chicken from MY second helping…)

Now, with all that being said, there are a couple of things I did differently (and will do differently next time):

-I added about 3 tablespoons to the couscous mixture. With the 2 tablespoons, I could only taste the slightest of hints of the sesame dressing (which might actually be how you prefer- so don’t take my word!)

– Also, I would recommend more of the coleslaw mix. I didn’t this time around, but next time, I think I’m going to start at 3 cups- just a personal preference.

Leave a Reply

