Spicy Loaded Chicken Noodle Casserole

  • 12 oz extra broad noodles (I used No Yolks© Extra Broad Noodles)
  • 8 slices cooked bacon, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 1 cup reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 8 oz cream cheese, cubed
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 3 cups rotisserie chicken, cubed
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced (optional- I did not add it)
  1. Prepare bacon and noodles as directed. separately. Set both aside.

2. In a pot over medium heat, add salsa, broth, cream cheese, mustard, salt and pepper. Cook until smooth.

chicken cass

chicken cass2

chicken cass3

chicken cass4

chicken cass5

3. Stir in chicken, bacon, garlic, and 1 1/2 cups cheese. Stir and cook until cheese is melted.

chicken cass6

chicken cass7

chicken cass8

chicken cass9

4. Add noodles. Stir and cook until heated through (about 5 minutes).

chicken cass10

chicken cass11

5. Toss breadcrumbs with oil, remaining cheese, green onions, and jalapeño (I did not add jalapeño)

chicken cass12

chicken cass13

chicken cass14

6. Transfer pasta mix to a greased 9 x 13- inch baking dish. Sprinkle bread crumb mixture over noodles.

chicken cass15

7. Broil for 2 minutes or until cheese is melted and bread crumbs are golden brown.

chicken cass16

chicken cass17

I have to be honest- I’m not normally a huge fan of casseroles. I mean, I have nothing against them, I just typically don’t make them. Lately, though, I realized I don’t usually have left overs…It would be nice (and cost effective) to have a meal ready and waiting for me the next day. So, when I saw this casserole, I figured I’d give it a shot.

I want to eat this everyday for the rest of my life. Seriously.

I thought it was going to be a “chicken noodle SOUP” casserole and, I’m not really a fan of chicken noodle soup so I was a little hesitant. It is NOTHING like chicken noodle SOUP. It has a fantastic, creamy taste with a slight kick! The breading is such a great flavor and texture and then the added green onions- YUM!

One of the big tests for me is how does it taste the next day? It. Tastes. Amazing. I’m not proud of this- but I had this for lunch and dinner…. (Actually, I am totally proud of it- I’m embracing the deliciousness of it!!)

PRINT RECIPE

 

One thought on “Spicy Loaded Chicken Noodle Casserole

  1. Pingback: KITCHEN

Leave a Reply

