Grilled Salmon with Avocado Salsa

  • 2 lbs salmon, cut into 4 pieces
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ancho chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

For the SALSA:

  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 small, red onion, sliced
  • juice from two limes
  • 1-2 tablespoons finely chopped
  • Salt to taste

 

  1. Mix the salt, chili powder, cumin, paprika, onion, and black pepper together.

salmon-1

2. Rub the salmon fillets with olive oil and the seasoning mix.

salmon-2

3. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

4. Pre- heat the grill (I actually used my stove- an preheat my oven to 425°)

5. Combine the avocado, onion, cilantro, lime juice and salt in a bowl and mix well. Chill until ready to use.

salmon-3

salmon-4

salmon-5

salmon-6

6. If grilling, grill to desired doneness (about 5 minutes). If in the stove, start checking if it’s done after about 15 minutes (I cooked mine for 25 minutes)…

salmon

7. Serve with salmon topped with the avocado salsa.

salmon-7

 

This is one of my husband’s favorite. Actually, it’s one of mine too. It is so fresh and flavorful! When I make it, I use two avocados. I’m also pretty generous with the cilantro. But you can adjust these to your particular preferences. By the way, there is a big difference between frozen salmon and fresh salmon- I strongly recommend getting fresh salmon.

I know I say this about most of my recipes, but this one is so easy! And it tastes like something you would spend a fortune on at a fancy restaurant! Even if cooking fresh salmon is something you shy away from, I suggest trying this one!

 

Leave a Reply

