Scallops with Chimichurri

  • 1/2 cup water
  • salt
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound large sea scallops
  • black pepper to taste
  1. Combine the water and 1/2 teaspoon salt in a bowl and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir so the salt dissolves.

2. Mix in the vinegar, parsley, garlic, and pepper flakes.

scallops

scallops-2

scallops-3

3. Slowly stir in 2 tablespoons of the alive oil. Set aside (ideally up to 20 minutes or more- but it can be used now)

scallops-4

4. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Thoroughly dry the scallops (with a paper towel), then season both sides with salt and pepper (to taste).

scallops-5

5. When the oil is hot, add the scallops and cook for 2 to 3 minutes on the first side (without disturbing them). Flip and cook 1 to 2 minutes longer, until firm but yielding to the touch.

scallops-6

6. Serve drizzled with chimichurri (which is the mix made in steps 1, 2, and 3).

scallops-7

The first time I cooked scallops, I was so far out of my comfort zone. And, in reality, I still don’t have a clue what I’m doing- but I must be doing something right because this is delicious. My husband said, “This tastes like something at a fancy restaurant that would cost like $40!” (I have to be honest- I agree!)

I only let the chimichurri sit for maybe 15 minutes? It tasted fantastic! It will stay good for up to 3 days in the refrigerator (and I totally plan to find another use for it in the next couple of days!)

Leave a Reply

