Pesto- Crusted Pork Chops

  • 6 boneless pork chops
  • 1 (7 oz) container reduced-fat pesto, divided
  • 1 cup Panko
  1. Coat pork chops with half of pesto

pesto-a

2. Dredge the pork chops in the panko bread crumbs

pesto-b

pesto-c

3. Cook in 1/4 cup hot oil in a large, nonstick skillet over medium heat until fully cooked.

pesto-d

4. Serve pork chops with remaining pesto.

pesto-e

I have made this before and it was delicious. Last night, though? That was almost a complete failure… Let me explain why.

The original recipe called for pork chops that were 1-inch thick. I, typically, use thinner ones- they seem to absorb the flavor better and don’t dry out. ALSO- (in this case) it doesn’t take as long to cook, so the panko breading doesn’t get burnt. (As you can see in that last picture- it was a little more crispy than it usually would be). USE THINNER PORK CHOPS!

Also, I wasn’t even thinking, and I used one regular skillet instead of two non-stick skillet (I had a few extra pork chops so I used two skillets). It doesn’t take long for the breading to get stuck to the bottom versus in a non-stick skillet. I should have taken a comparison picture- it was pretty comical.

Despite the fact that I used thicker pork chops, that pesto gives it a fantastic flavor! And the recipe is so easy and quick! I, personally, think this is one of my favorites! Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

