Chicken and Artichoke Bake

  • 1 1/4 cup Spaghetti sauce
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 cups cubed COOKED chicken (or 2 cans- 10 oz each- cut up chicken)
  • 1 can (14 oz) artichoke hearts, drained and quartered
  • 1 1/2 cups green peas, thawed if frozen, OR 1 can green peas drained
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.

 

2. In a bowl, combine spaghetti sauce, mayonnaise, lemon juice, and mustard. Set aside.

chicken-2

 

2. In a separate bowl, combine bread crumbs and butter.

chicken-3

 

3. In an 8×8 baking dish, combine chicken, artichoke hearts, peas, and soup mix. Mix to combine.

chicken-6

chicken-7

 

4. Spread bread crumb mixture evenly on top and sprinkle Parmesan cheese over the crumbs.

 

5. Bake in preheated oven until the mixture bubbles- about 20 minutes.

chicken-9

 

I first made this recipe years ago- I was looking for something to make and I just so happened to have all the ingredients on hand, so I tried it! I should clarify… I did NOT have everything. The original recipe calls for 1 can (10 oz) condensed cream of tomato soup… I didn’t have that, but I had spaghetti sauce. I think it adds additional flavor.

It has been a hit! And actually, I like this better as left overs! I have used fresh, cooked chicken, and I have also used the canned chicken- both taste good. One small warning: I typically use plain Panko bread crumbs. This time, however, I used an Italian herbs bread crumbs, and both my husband and I felt that made it to salty. So- heads up.

This was the first recipe I ever made that included artichoke hearts. I have found that many people have either not tried artichoke hearts or they don’t typically cook with them. They add a great, unique flavor- so don’t shy away from trying them!

 

Leave a Reply

