Sloppy Joes

*Disclaimer: I was making this for a large group so I tripled the recipe which is why there is so much ground beef in the pictures- it is a great recipe to make for large groups!

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sause
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar (I typically use Apple Cider Vinegar for this…)

 

  1. Brown ground beef.

sloppy-joe

 

2. Add brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, and ketchup. Mix that and then add vinegar.

sloppy-joe-2

 

3. Simmer about 10 minutes. Serve on hamburger buns.

sloppy-joe-and-cucumber

 

(I also made a Cucumber Salad to go along with this- Yum!)

I always warn people when I make this, this is NOT your typical Sloppy Joe recipe (well, it is for me- it’s the one I grew up on…) It wasn’t until I was an adult that I learned that Sloppy Joe’s are usually more tomato based (I’ve even heard of people adding peppers and corn to it). This one is quite sweet, but It. Is. So. Good.

I’ve made it for many of my friends and it’s become the crowd pleaser. In fact, whenever my friends come over, their kids will say, “You’re making Sloppy Joe’s, right?” As I have given people this recipe throughout the years, some of them have added their own twist: one of my friends uses BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and she said it is delicious that way.

This is originally my Grandmom’s recipe, and it actually took awhile for her to be able to write down the amounts of the ingredients because she has always done it by site- which is great because it’s very versatile in that sense: you can add less ketchup, more brown sugar, etc.

 

 

Leave a comment