Amazing Crock Pot Roast

  • Medium sized roast
  • Packet of powder zesty Italian dressing
  • Packet of powder ranch
  • Packet of powder brown gravy

 

  1. Mix all powder packets together with 1/2 cup water.

pork-roast-1

(Looks delicious, huh?)

 

2. Spray bottom of the slow cooker with cooking spray and put roast in.

pork-roast-2

 

3. Pour mixture over roast.

pork-roast-3

 

4. Cook on low for 8 to 10 hours.

Voilà!

pork-roast-4

Finished product!

pork-roast-5

 

 

I have a confession to make. I hate slow cookers. Or at least I should say I used to. I can’t tell you how many times I would put in something in the morning and throughout the day, my house would be filled with the most amazing aroma and then, when it was finally time to eat- it was a flop. Because of that, I’ve avoided slow cooker recipes.

Y’all. This one is so amazing. Like- I can’t even stress how good it is. Everyone in my family said this was their favorite meal I make. This recipe could not be easier to make! And it has made me fall in love with my slow cooker!

There are a few things I do differently though, that I think are worth noting:

  • The original recipe calls for a beef roast. When I first made it, I didn’t realize that… It was a hit, though, so a successful mistake. However, I later tried it with a beef roast, and it just misses the mark in my opinion. So, since then, I have always used a pork roast.
  • The first time I made it, I used a pork roast that has a little button on it that pops out when it’s done. I HIGHLY recommend getting this kind if you can. It ended up being done in about 6 1/2 hours instead of the 8-10 and it was perfect. I have tried it using different brands (without the handy little button) and I’ve ended up over cooking it. It still has a good flavor, but just no where near as yummy.
  • Finally, in the last picture, you can see that I have poured some of the remaining “gravy” over the roast. This was the first time I had done that, and to be honest, my husband and I weren’t fans of it. The gravy is quite salty and roast tastes so amazing without it, it almost overpowered it. So, just be mindful of that. (I’m sure there are tricks out there to make it a tastier gravy- but I don’t know what those tricks are so I can’t help you there…)
Leave a Reply

