Gnocchi with White Beans

1 medium onion, chopped

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 package (16 ounces) potato gnocchi

1 package (6 ounces) fresh baby spinach

1 can (15 ounces) white kidney or cannelloni beans, rinsed

1 can (14 1/2 ounces) Italian diced tomatoes, undrained

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

3 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

gnocchi-2

  1. In a large skillet, saute onion in oil until tender. Add garlic, cook 1 minute longer.

gnocchi-3

2. Add gnocchi; cook and stir for 5-6 minutes or until golden brown.

gnocchi-4

3. Stir in spinach; cook until spinach is wilted.

gnocchi-5

4. Add the beans

gnocchi-6

5. Add the tomatoes and pepper. Stir and heat through.

gnocchi-8

6. Sprinkle with cheeses; cover and remove from heat.

gnocchi-9

7. Let stand 3-4 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Gnocchi (pronounced NYOHK/kee) is a delicious, Italian potato dumpling (it can be made from other things- but it is traditionally potato). My husband used to live in Italy and he would often rave about gnocchi. When I found this recipe, I figured I would try it for his sake- and I am so glad I did!

This has become a family favorite. When I first made it, I think my husband and I were a little confused as to what the dish was- it’s not a soup. Or a pasta. We decided it’s more like a chili…(Like chili, it tastes great with cornbread!)

It’s very filling and makes good leftovers! Although, there usually isn’t left overs. That’s something to keep in mind about this recipe- it feeds the 4 of us and there is very rarely anything left.

When I’ve told people about this recipe, *most* have not heard of gnocchi. I usually find it in the pasta section, but I know sometimes it can be found in the frozen section. It’s super easy to cook- it is traditionally boiled (in fact the instructions on the packet say to do that.) But there is no need to boil it before putting them in the pan.

Simple & Delicious Cookbook: Brand New Edition. A Taste of Home. 2013.Reiman Media Group, Inc. Greendale, WI.
Leave a Reply

